The 2020 Election Will Permanently Break Relationships

Albert Mohler is president of Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. As you would expect he argues for why he thinks endorsing all manner of immortality, corruption and injustice (traits he openly admits Trump brings to the table) is the most Christian thing to do because it’s necessary to preserving “conservative values.” By that he means primarily maintaining opposition to abortion and gay rights.

All that is to be expected. He says regarding we Christians who disagree with him,

We each have a vote. Both of us will answer to God for that vote. We earnestly seek to persuade the other. We will likely vote differently in the end. We remain brothers and sisters in Christ.

https://albertmohler.com/2020/10/26/christians-conscience-and-the-looming-2020-election

But then he says,

I quickly lose respect for those who now endorse Joe Biden

There’s the bottom line. We are still brothers and sisters, but we are brothers and sisters who have no respect for one another and no desire to be in each other’s company.

I identify personally with the marginalized. The asylum seekers and refugees being tear gassed and turned away are my son’s and daughters, my brothers and sisters. Our black citizens being killed in our streets, that’s my daughter, my brother. I don’t just oppose these racist and oppressive policies ideologically. I’m hurt and angry. I’m personally offended. Trump couldn’t be enforcing these brutal policies without you empowering him and approving these policies with your vote. We don’t just disagree. You are murdering my family, and I don’t think I can ever forgive you for that.

Leave a comment